Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Virtual Migratory Bird Day Storytime about Birds

May 13

https://shop.environmentamericas.org/products/what-if-night-by-paul-bogard-illustrated-by-sarah-holden

With the night sky over most cities now nearly 100 times brighter than in the last century, children are missing out on the experience of the natural darkness. This charming story, along with stunning watercolors of night sky and wildlife, presents the thrill and wonder of a child exploring darkness without fear. This is a perfect read-aloud story for bedtime or any time.

Join us in a virtual celebration of World Migratory Bird Day. As migratory birds travel from wintering to nesting sites, they face a significant threat from light pollution.
We’ll learn about why dark skies are important from author, Paul Bogard, as he reads What if Night?, and then we’ll draw along with illustrator Sarah Holden as she demonstrates how to draw animals from the book.

Recommended for ages 2–5. Hardcover, 32 pages.

Register HERE for MAY 13 | 10 am PT, 11 am MT, Noon CT, 1 pm ET 

Order the book and the art supplies (chalk and black sheets) to join the activity with the artist Sarah Holden.

Individual set: Book + 6 sheets + 1 box of 12 chalks

Group: 60 sheets + 3 Boxes of chalks

Location

Environment for the Americas
5171 Eldorado Springs Drive, Suite N
Boulder, CO 80303 United States
303-499-1950

Contact

Environment for the Americas
303-499-1950
info@environmentamericas.org

All About Birds is a free resource

Available for everyone,
funded by donors like you

Need Bird ID Help? Try Merlin

Experience the Joy of Birdwatching online course for yourself, and we'll give you one free to send to a friend!

Just purchase the course for yourself, then look for an email from us with instructions to redeem your free gift course.